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Dear Ms. Dunston: 

Attached hereto are Exhibits A, B, and D to New River Light and Power 
Company's Application to Adjust Retail Base Rates to be filed in the above-referenced 
docket. 

If you have any questions concerning theses supporting exhibits, please do not 
hesitate to contact me. 

cc: Mr. David T. Drooz 
Mr. Randall E. Halley 
Mr. Edmond C. Miller 

Sincerely 

M. Gray Styers, Jr. 

Mr. Zeke Creech - NC Utilities Commission Public Staff 
Ms. Jessica Heironimus - NC Utilities Commission Public Staff 
Ms. Jennifer Harrod - NC Utilities Commission Staff 





EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

NEW RIVER LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY 
RATE SCHEDULES 

Effective for Service On and After 
April 1, 2018 

1. Schedule R - Residential Service 

2. Schedule G - Commercial General Service 3 

3. Schedule GL - Commercial Demand Service 5 

4. Schedule GLH - Commercial High Demand Factor Service 7 

5. Schedule A-ASU Campus Service 9 

6. Schedule OL - Security Lighting Service 11 

7. Schedule PP AC&CACR - Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and 
Coal Ash Recovery Rider 14 

8. Schedule MS - Miscellaneous Service 16 

9. Schedule LEDL-LED Lighting Service 18 

I 0. Schedule NSMR - Non-Standard Meter Rider 21 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RA TES 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Residential Service 

Schedule "R" 

Ava ilabili ty 

Available to customers who are classified as residential customers; these being 
individual residential customers in residences, mobile homes, or individually 
metered apartments. 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
(2) temporary service, or (3) resale, except to lessors of real property who possess 
and deliver to the Company a Certificate of Authority to Resell Electric Service in 
accordance with Chapter 62, Section 110(h) of the General Statutes of North Carolina 
and Chapter 22 of the Rules and Regulations of the North Carolina Utilities 
Commission. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
208Y /120 volts, or 
120 /240 volts 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of 5 hp or less shall be of single-phase service unless three-phase service is 
already available. 

Monthly Rate Sched ul e "R" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Energy Charge 

Minimum Bill 

$12.58 per month 
$0.090044 per kWh 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $12.58 (Basic Facilities Charge). 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR - Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 
of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
( except holidays). 
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E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial General Service 

Schedule "G" 

Availability 

Available to customers who have commercial, general, or temporary service with a 
monthly usage demand less than 30 kW. In the event a customer billed on this 
schedule incurs a demand of 30 kW or more for two months during a twelve-month 
period, the customer will be served under the "Commercial Demand Service -
Schedule GL" 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
or (2) for resale. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
208Y /120 volts, or 480Y /277 volts, or 
240, 480 volts 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "G" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Energy Charge 

Minimum Bill 

$17.42 per month 
$0.086683 per kWh 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $17.42 (Basic Facilities Charge). 
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Rider 

EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RA TES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15 th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not pai.d, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 

4141076779.1 - 12/21/2022 2:36:47 PM 



EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial Demand Service 

Schedule "GL" 

Ava il ab ility 

Available to customers who have commercial, general, or temporary service with a 
monthly usage demand of 30 kW. In the event a customer billed on this schedule has 
a demand less than 30 kW for twelve consecutive months, the customer will be served 
under the "Commercial General Service -Schedule G". In the event a customer billed 
on this Schedule has a monthly load factor of 65% or higher for six (6) months over 
the previous twelve (12) months, the customer will be served under the "Commercial 
Demand High Load Factor Service - Schedule GLH". 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
or (2) for resale. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one 1_of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120 /240 volts, or 
208y/120 volts, or 480Y /277 volts, or 
240, 480 volts 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "GL" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Demand Charge 

Minimum Bill 

$23.22 per month 
$8.27 per kWEnergy Charge $0.054222 per kWh 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $23.22 (Basic Facilities Charge). 
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Rider 

EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RA TES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial Demand High Load Factor Service 

Schedule "GLH" 

Availability 

Available to customers who have commercial or general service with a monthly usage 
demand of 30 kW or more for two months and a monthly load factor of 65% or higher 
for six months over the previous twelve months. In the event a customer billed on 
this schedule has a demand less than 30 kW for twelve consecutive months, the 
customer will be served under the "Commercial General Service -Schedule G". In the 
event a customer's load factor falls below 65% for more than six months over the 
previous twelve consecutive months, the customer will be served under the 
"Commercial Demand Service - Schedule GL". 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
(2) for resale, or (3) for temporary service. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
208y /120 volts, or 480Y /277 volts, or 
240, 480 volts 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "GLH" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Demand Charge 
Energy Charge 

Minimum Bill 

$23.22 per month 
$10.00 per kW 
$0.051800 per kWh 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $23.22 (Basic Facilities Charge). 
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Rider 

EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
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New River Light and Power Company 
ASU Campus Service 

Schedule "A" 

This schedule is available only for a single point of delivery for Appalachian State 
University's main campus location. 

Type of Service 

For the individual delivery points throughout the ASU Campus, the company will 
furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, at one of the 
following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
208Y /120 volts, or 480Y /277 volts, or 
240, 480 volts 
4160Y/2400,12470Y/7200 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "A" 

Distribution Facilities Charge 
Power Demand Charge 
Power Energy Charge 

$10.63 per kW 
$8.75 per kW 
$0.040950 per kWh 

Billing Demand for Distribution Facilities Charge 

The average maximum 15-minute kW demand measured at the ASU Substation 
meters plus the kW demand measured at any on-site generation in excess of 10 kW 
serving ASU Campus load at the same time as the ASU Substation kW demand. 

Billing Demand for Power Demand Charge 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
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The average maximum 15-minute kW demand measured at the ASU Substation 
meters. 

Rider 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Security Lighting Service 

Schedule "OL" 

AvailabiUty 

This service is available to all customers of the Company to be used to light outdoor 
areas, private streets, and driveways. The lighting units may be mercury vapor, 
sodium vapor, or metal halide bracket mounted on Company owned poles. 

Service 

Company shall provide all materials and install, operate, maintain, and provide 
energy required for illumination of the lighting units from dusk to dawn. The 
Company will offer as standard units the following lamps installed on wooden poles 
at the monthly rate approved by the North Carolina Utilities Commission: 

Fixtures 
100 Watt Sodium Vapor 
175 Watt Mercury Vapor 
400 Watt Mercury Vapor 
150 Watt Sodium Vapor 
250 Watt Sodium Vapor 
400 Watt Metal Halide 

Mounting Arm 
Short Arm 
Gooseneck 
Cobra Head 
Cobra Head 
Cobra Head 
Short Arm 

Monthly charge per fixture identified by Schedule "OL" Tariff approved by 
Commission 

Condition of Service 

All facilities necessary to provide this service including fixtures, lamps, controls, 
poles, other structures, hardware, transformers, and conductors will be owned and 
maintained by the Company. The Company will replace burned-out lamps and 
otherwise maintain the luminaries during regular working hours as soon as 
practicable following notification by the Customer of the necessity. 

All Customers must enter into a contract with the Company prior to the Company 
providing requested service. 

All Customers will provide deposit security of 50% of the charges, based on the 
current retail rate, for the contract period unless Customer owns the premises, 
provide a guarantor and/or has through payment history established a good credit 
rating as defined by having no more than two (2) delinquent payments during 
preceding twelve (12) months. Company will pay interest on the deposit at an annual 
rate of 8% beginning with the 91st day of service. 
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Should Customer request termination of service prior to completing contract time, 
Customer will be responsible for payment of charges for the remaining months using 
the monthly rate at the time contract was signed. This payment is due in lump sum 
at the time of requesting discontinuance of service. 

Temporary Serv ice 

Request for temporary lighting which includes seasonal customer, carnivals, flea 
markets, fairs, etc. will be available at the Company's option. The Customer will be 
subject to an in-and-out charge, which will consist of the labor to install and remove, 
material installed less the anticipated value at removal, to be paid in advance. No 
contract will be required for service. 

Monthly Rate 

Rider 

Fixtures 

100 Watt Sodium Vapor 
175 Watt Mercury Vapor 

400 Watt Mercury Vapor 
150 Watt Sodium Vapor 
250 Watt Sodium Vapor 
$ 19.54 
250 Watt Metal Halide 
100 Watt SV TOB 

150 Watt SV TOB 
175 Watt MV TOB 
250 Watt SV TOB 
400 Watt MV TOB 
400 Watt SV TOB 
750 Watt SV TOB 

Monthly Charge 

$ 8.90 

$ 9.05 
$ 9.26 

$16.97 

$ 12.93400 Watt Metal Halide 

$ 15.33 
$ 2.91 

$ 4.39 
$ 5.12 
$ 7.31 
$ 11.68 
$ 11.68 
$ 21.92 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the monthly fixture charges based on the estimated kWh usage per 
light fixture. 

PPAC&CACR- Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 
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of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
( except holidays). 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery Rider 

Schedule "PPAC&CACR" 

SinceNew River Light & Power Company ("NRLP") has received wholesale power 
supply from Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation ("BREM CO") which, in turn, 
receives power supply from Duke Energy Carolinas ("DEC"). The cost of wholesale 
power from DEC is passed through to NRLP from BREMCO. 

Purchased Power Adjustment Clause 

Service supplied under NRLP's rate schedules are subject to approved purchased 
power cost adjustments, if any, over or under the rate set forth in the approved rate 
schedules. Adjustments are made pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 62-
133.2 and North Carolina Utilities Commission Rule R8-55 as ordered by the North 
Carolina Utilities Commission. 

Effective April 1, 2018, the base purchased power cost established in Docket No. E-
34, Sub 46 is $0.062846 per kWh which is included in the energy charges of NRLP's 
rate schedules. 

All service supplied under NRLP's rate schedules is subject to an increment per kWh 
as set forth below. This adjustment is not included in the rate schedules of NRLP and 
therefore, must be applied to the bill as calculated under the applicable rate for bills 
rendered on, or after, April 1, 2018. 

Purchased Power Adjus tment 

ALL SERVICE CLASSES April 1, 201 8 

Adjustment to all classes -$0.000880 / kWh 

Experience Modification Factor & Interest $0.001885 / kWh 

Net Purchased Power Rider Factor $0.001005 / kWh 

Regulatory Fee Multiplier X 1.001400 

Purchased Power Cost Adjustment Factor $0.001006 / kWh 
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Effective July 1, 2017, the power supply agreement between DEC and BREMCO was 
amended to allow recovery of costs to comply with (i) the North Carolina Coal Ash 
Management Act 2014 N. C. Sess. Laws 122; 2014 N.C. Ch. 122; 2013 N. C. SB 729, as 
amended June 2015 by the Mountain Energy Act, N. C. SB716 as further amended by 
the Drinking Water Protection/Coal Ash Cleanup Act, House Bill 603/S.L. 2016-95, 
and (ii) The Hazardous and Solid Waste Management System: Disposal of Coal 
Combustion Residuals from Electric Utilities promulgated by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency and published on April 17, 2015, 80 Fed. Reg 
21302, as may be amended from time to time ("Coal Ash Costs"). 

This Coal Ash Cost Recovery ("CACR") provides for a charge or credit to NRLP's 
customers to recover charges from , BREM CO for recovery of DEC's Coal Ash Costs. 
This Schedule CACR is applicable to all NRLP Rate Schedules. This adjustment is not 
included in the rate schedules of NRLP and therefore, must be applied to the bill as 
calculated under the applicable rate for bills rendered on, or after, April 1, 2018. 

ALL SERVICE CLASSES 

Net Coal Ash Cost Recovery Factor 

Regulatory Fee Multiplier 

Coal Ash Cost Recovery Factor 
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April 1, 2018 

$0.003246 / kWh 

X 1.001400 

$0.003251 / kWh 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Miscellaneous Service Charges 

Schedule "MS" 

The Company may require a deposit before beginning service or before reestablishing 
service or in the event of a material change of circumstances as allowed by the Rules 
and Regulations of the North Carolina Utilities Commission (Commission). The 
amount of the deposit and the interest paid on deposits will be in accordance with the 
Rules and Regulations of the Commission. The Company may require an increase or 
allow a decrease in the deposit if changes occur in the amount of bills rendered to the 
Customer. The Company may refund a deposit at any time. When service is 
discontinued, the Company will refund the deposit plus any accumulated interest, less 
any unpaid bills. 

Connect Charge: 

When the Company first supplies electricity under any rate schedule, the Customer 
shall pay the Company a connection charge of $11.50. This charge shall become a part 
of the first bill rendered to Customer for electricity supplied at such premises. The 
connection charge applies to any new service set up which requires a field trip to read 
the meter, install a meter, connect a meter or install new facilities. 

Connect Charge Commercial Temporary: 

When the Company supplies temporary electricity under Schedule G or Schedule GL, 
the Customer shall pay the Company a connection charge of $15.00. This charge shall 
become a part of the first bill rendered to Customer for electricity supplied at such 
premises. The connection charge applies to any commercial temporary service which 
requires a field trip to read the meter, install a meter, connect a meter or install new 
facilities. 

Reconnect Fee: 

In case of discontinuance of service for any reason except repairs or other necessary 
work by the Company, the Customer shall pay the Company a reconnect charge before 
service will be restored as follows: 

Regular Working Hours - If reconnect service is between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., 
Monday through Friday (except holidays), the fee will be $25.00. 

\ 

After Regular Working Hours - If reconnect service is during the evenings, weekends 
or holidays, the fee will be $60.00. 
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When a check, electronic check, bank draft, debit card or credit card tendered for 
payment of a Customer's account, is subsequently returned by a financial institution 
due to a failure of the issuer's financial institution to honor the payment for good and 
sufficient reason, a $21.00 fee will be charged to the Customer for each such returned 
payment. The Company, at its option for good cause, may refuse to accept a check, 
electronic check, debit card, or credit card tendered as payment on a Customer's 
account. 

Extra Facil ities Charge: 

At the request of the Customer, the Company will furnish, install, own and maintain 
facilities which are in addition to those necessary for delivery of service at one point, 
through one meter, at one voltage, in accordance with the applicable rate schedule. 
Such additional facilities will be in accordance with the following provisions: 

1. "Extra Facilities" shall consist of the following as may be required: voltage 
regulators, circuit breakers, duplicate service, transformers, substations, connecting 
lines, off-site facilities or other equipment installed for the use of the contracting 
Customer, other than facilities which the Company would furnish to the Customer 
without cost under its applicable rate schedule. 

2. The monthly "Extra Facilities Charge" shall be equal to 0.9% of the installed 
cost of the facilities, but not less than $25, shall be billed to the Customer in addition 
to the billing for energy, or for demand plus energy, in accordance with the applicable 
rate schedule. 

3. The "installed cost of extra facilities" shall be the original cost of material used, 
including spare equipment, if any, plus applicable labor, transportation, stores, tax, 
engineering and general expenses, all estimated if not known. 

The Company shall have the option of refusing requests for extra facilities if, on its 
own determination, the requested facilities are not feasible, or may adversely affect 
the Company's service to other customers. 
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New River Light and Power Company 
LED Lighting Service 

Schedule "LEDL" 

Ava il ability 

This service is available to all customers of the Company to be used to light outdoor 
areas, private streets, and driveways. 

Condition of Service 

All facilities necessary to provide this service including fixtures, lamps, controls, 
poles, other structures, hardware, transformers, and conductors will be owned and 
maintained by the Company unless otherwise noted. For all Company owned 
facilities, the Company will replace burned-out lamps and otherwise maintain the 
luminaries during regular working hours as soon as practicable following notification 
by the Customer of the necessity. 

All Customers must enter into a contract with the Company prior to the Company 
providing requested service. 

All Customers will provide deposit security of 50% of the charges, based on the 
current retail rate, for the contract period unless Customer owns the premises, 
provide a guarantor and/or has through payment history established a good credit 
rating as defined by having no more than two (2) delinquent payments during 
preceding twelve (12) months. Company will pay interest on the deposit at an annual 
rate of 8% beginning with the 91 st day of service. 

Should Customer request termination of service prior to completing contract time, 
Customer will be responsible for payment of charges for the remaining months using 
the monthly rate at the time contract was signed. This payment is due in lump sum 
at the time of requesting discontinuance of service. 

Tempora ry Servi ce 

Request for temporary lighting which includes seasonal customer, carnivals, flea 
markets, fairs, etc. will be available at the Company's option. The Customer will be 
subject to an in-and-out charge, which will consist of the labor to install and remove, 
material installed less the anticipated value at removal, to be paid in advance. No 
contract will be required for service. 
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Monthly Rate Schedule "LEDL" 

Type of Light 

Unmetered Service (Photocell): 

150 Watt Flood Light 

266 Watt Flood Light 

162 Watt Cobra Head 

119 Watt Area Light (Shoe Box) 

50 Watt Yard Light 

Metered Service: 

150 Watt Flood Light 

266 Watt Flood Light 

162 Watt Cobra Head 

119 Watt Area Light (Shoe Box) 

50 Watt Yard Light 

EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New Pole 

Existing Pole Decorative 
Wood 

Fiberglass 

$10.59 $13.99 $17.40 

$16.27 $19.67 $23.08 

$11.06 $14.46 $17.87 

$9.98 $13.38 $16.79 

$4.07 $7.47 $10.88 

$7.13 $10.53 $13.94 

$10.17 $13.57 $16.98 

$7.35 $10.75 $14.16 

$7.28 $10.68 $14.09 

$2.94 $6.34 $9.75 

Town of Boone Owned Lighting (Energy Only): 

TOB 80 Watt LED 

TOB 110 Watt LED 

TOB 136 Watt LED 

TOB 180 Watt LED 
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$1.82 

$2.51 

$3.14 

$4.15 



Rider 

EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the monthly fixture charges based on the estimated kWh usage per 
light fixture. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 
of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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EXHIBIT A TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
CURRENT RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Non-Standard Meter Rider 

Schedule "NSMR" 

Ava ilability 

Available to customers of New River Light & Power Company (NRLP). 

Applicabili ty 

This Rider is available on a voluntary basis to customers who elect to have a non­
standard meter that requires a manual meter read in lieu of a standard AMI meter 
which does not require a manual meter read ("Opt-Out Customer"). Customers who 
fail to provide reasonable access to premises, request to Opt-Out or otherwise 
prevent replacement of the non-standard meter with a standard AMI meter shall be 
deemed to have elected to take service under Rider NSMR, provided they are not 
prohibited from doing so pursuant to the "Limitation of Service" provision of this 
NSMR. Service under this schedule shall be provided with a non-communicating 
meter of NRLP's choice. 

Limitation of Service 

This Rider is available to customers who have not tampered with the electric meter 
service or used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. This Rider will 
remain available as long as non-standard meter options are reasonably available and 
are supported by the manufacturers. 

Cha rges 

All charges and provisions of the Opt-Out Customer's otherwise applicable electric 
service rate schedule shall apply. In addition, Opt-Out Customers who elect service 
under this Rider will be charged an Initial Setup Fee and a recurring Monthly 
Surcharge. 

Initial Setup Fee: $77.00 

Monthly Surcharge: $14.25 

Term of Service 

Service under this Rate Schedule NSMR shall be for a minimum of one (1) billing 
period. An Opt-Out Customer wishing to discontinue this service will be subject to 

the current Reconnect Fee to reinstate the customer into NRLP's standard metering 
service. 
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EXHIBIT 8 TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

NEW RIVER LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY 
RA TE SCHEDULES 

Effective for Service On and After 
_____ ,2023 

Schedule R - Residential Service 

Schedule G - Commercial General Service 

Schedule GL - Commercial Demand Service 

Schedule GLH - Commercial High Demand Factor Service 

Schedule A - ASU Campus Service 

Schedule OL - Security Lighting Service 

Schedule PPAC&CACR - Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and 
Coal Ash Recovery Rider 

Schedule MS - Miscellaneous Service 

Schedule LEDL - LED Lighting Service 

Schedule NSMR - Non-Standard Meter Rider 

Schedule NBR - Net Billing Rider for Renewable Energy Facilities 

Schedule IR - Interruptible Rate Rider 

Schedule PPR - Purchased Power for Renewable Energy Facilities 

3 

5 

7 

9 

11 

14 

16 

18 

22 

23 

25 

26 
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EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Residential Service 

Schedule "R" 

Avai lability 

Available to customers who are classified as residential customers; these being 
individual residential customers in residences, mobile homes, or individually 
metered apartments. 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
(2) temporary service, or (3) resale, except to lessors of real property who possess 
and deliver to the Company a Certificate of Authority to Resell Electric Service in 
accordance with Chapter 62, Section 110(h) of the General Statutes of North Carolina 
and Chapter 22 of the Rules and Regulations of the North Carolina Utilities 
Commission. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 120/240 volts, or 
Three Phase 120/208Y volts, or 
Other available voltages at the Company's option. 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of 5 hp or less shall be of single-phase service unless three-phase service is 
already available. 

Monthly Rate Schedul e "R" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Energy Charge: 

NRLP Distribution Charge 
Wholesale Power Supply Charge 

Minimum Bill 

$14.50 per month 

$0.032593 per kWh 
$0.080008 per kWh 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $14.50 (Basic Facilities Charge). 
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Rider 

EXHIBIT 8 TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR - Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 
of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial General Service 

Schedule "G" 

Availability 

Available to customers who have commercial, general, or temporary service with a 
monthly usage demand less than 30 kW. In the event a customer billed on this 
schedule incurs a demand of 30 kW or more for two months during a twelve-month 
period, the customer will be served under the "Commercial Demand Service -
Schedule GL" 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
or (2) for resale. 

Type of Service 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 120/240 volts, or 
Three Phase 120/208Y volts, or 277 /480Y volts, or 
Other available voltages at the Company's option. 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "G" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Energy Charge: 

NRLP Distribution Charge 
Wholesale Power Supply Charge 
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$17.50 per month 

$0.032656 per kWh 
$0.080309 per kWh 



Minimum Bill 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $17.50 (Basic Facilities Charge). 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial Demand Service 

Schedule "GL" 

Ava ilabili ty 

Available to customers who have commercial, general, or temporary service with a 
minimum monthly usage demand of 30 kW. In the event a customer billed on this 
schedule has a demand less than 30 kW for twelve consecutive months, the customer 
will be served under the "Commercial General Service -Schedule G". 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
or (2) for resale. 

Type of Servi ce 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 120/240 volts, or 
Three Phase 120/208Y volts, or 277 /480Y volts, or 
Other available voltages at the Company's option. 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedul e "GL" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Demand Charge 

NRLP Distribution Charge 
Wholesale Power Supply Charge 

Energy Charge: 
NRLP Distribution Charge 
Wholesale Power Supply Charge 
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$2.27 per kW 
$6.00 per kW 
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$0.021586 per kWh 
$0.053429 per kWh 



Minimum Bill 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $30.00 (Basic Facilities Charge). 

Rider 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 

6 

141077253.l - 12/21/2022 2:47:54 PM 



EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Commercial Demand High Load Factor Service 

Schedule "GLH" 

This Rate Schedule is Closed and No Longer Available 

Ava ilabili ty 

Available to customers who have commercial or general service with a monthly usage 
demand of 30 kW or more for two months and a monthly load factor of 65% or higher 
for six months over the previous twelve months. In the event a customer billed on 
this schedule has a demand less than 30 kW for twelve consecutive months, the 
customer will be served under the "Commercial General Service -Schedule G". In the 
event a customer's load factor falls below 65% for more than six months over the 
previous twelve consecutive months, the customer will be served under the 
"Commercial Demand Service - Schedule GL". 

This schedule is not available for (1) breakdown, standby, or supplementary service, 
(2) for resale, or (3) for temporary service. 

Type of Se rvi ce 

The company will furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, 
at one of the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
208y /120 volts, or 480Y /277 volts, or 
240, 480 volts 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedul e "G LH" 

Basic Facilities Charge 
Demand Charge 
Energy Charge 
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$23.22 per month 
$10.00 per kW 
$0.051800 per kWh 
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Minimum Bill 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The minimum monthly bill for service shall be $23.22 (Basic Facilities Charge). 

Rider 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 

8 

141077253.1 - 12/21/2022 2:47:54 PM 



Ava il abil ity 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
ASU Campus Service 

Schedule "A" 

This schedule is available only for a single point of delivery for Appalachian State 
University's main campus location. 

Type of Servi ce 

For the individual delivery points throughout the ASU Campus, the company will 
furnish 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, at one of the 
following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 
Three Phase 

120/240 volts, or 
120/208Y volts, or 277 /480Y volts, or 
240, 480 volts 
4160Y/2400,12470Y/7200 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
customers should ascertain the available supply voltage at the Company's office in 
Boone, NC, before purchasing equipment. 

Motors of less than 5 hp may be single phase. All motors of more than 5 hp must be 
equipped with starting compensators and all motors of more than 25 hp must be of 
the slip ring type except that the Company reserves the right, when in its opinion the 
installation would not be detrimental to the service of the Company, to permit other 
types of motors. 

Monthly Rate Schedule "A" 

Distribution Facilities Charge 
Power Demand Charge 
Power Energy Charge 

$18.03 per kW 
$8.56 per kW 
$0.044428 per kWh 

Billing Dema nd fo r Distri bution Faci liti es Charge 

The average maximum 15-minute kW demand measured at the ASU Substation 
meters plus the kW demand measured at any on-site generation in excess of 10 kW 
serving ASU Campus load at the same time as the ASU Substation kW demand. 
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Billing Demand for Power Demand Charge 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The average maximum 15-minute kW demand measured at the ASU Substation 
meters. 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the kWh Energy Charge shown above in the determination of the 
monthly bill. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are issued on the last working day of the month, and due and 
payable as of the billing date, or, if not received by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills 
are considered past due on the 15th day of the month following the billing date. Bills 
are considered delinquent twenty-five (25) days after the billing date and will be 
assessed a one percent (1 %) late payment charge. If any bill is not paid, the Company 
has the right to suspend service. 
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EXHIBIT 8 TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Security Lighting Service 

Schedule "OL" 

Avai lability 

This service is available to all customers of the Company to be used to light outdoor 
areas, private streets, and driveways. The lighting units may be mercury vapor, 
sodium vapor, or metal halide bracket mounted on Company owned poles. 

Service 

Company shall provide all materials and install, operate, maintain, and provide 
energy required for illumination of the lighting units from dusk to dawn. The 
Company will offer as standard units the following lamps installed on wooden poles 
at the monthly rate approved by the North Carolina Utilities Commission: 

Fixtures 
100 Watt Sodium Vapor 
175 Watt Mercury Vapor 
400 Watt Mercury Vapor 
150 Watt Sodium Vapor 
250 Watt Sodium Vapor 
400 Watt Metal Halide 

Mount ing Arm 
Short Arm 
Gooseneck 
Cobra Head 
Cobra Head 
Cobra Head 
Short Arm 

Monthly charge per fixture identified by Schedule "OL" Tariff approved by 
Commission 

Cond ition of Servi ce 

All facilities necessary to provide this service including fixtures, lamps, controls, 
poles, other structures, hardware, transformers, and conductors will be owned and 
maintained by the Company. The Company will replace burned-out lamps and 
otherwise maintain the luminaries during regular working hours as soon as 
practicable following notification by the Customer of the necessity. 

All Customers must enter into a contract with the Company prior to the Company 
providing requested service. 

All Customers will provide deposit security of 50% of the charges, based on the 
current retail rate, for the contract period unless Customer owns the premises, 
provide a guarantor and/or has through payment history established a good credit 
rating as defined by having no more than two (2) delinquent payments during 
preceding twelve (12) months. Company will pay interest on the deposit at an annual 
rate of 8% beginning with the 91 st day of service. 
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EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

Should Customer request termination of service prior to completing contract time, 
Customer will be responsible for payment of charges for the remaining months using 
the monthly rate at the time contract was signed. This payment is due in lump sum 
at the time of requesting discontinuance of service. 

Temporary Service 

Request for temporary lighting which includes seasonal customer, carnivals, flea 
markets, fairs, etc. will be available at the Company's option. The Customer will be 
subject to an in-and-out charge, which will consist of the labor to install and remove, 
material installed less the anticipated value at removal, to be paid in advance. No 
contract will be required for service. 

Monthly Rate 

Lighting Fixtures and Poles 

175 Watt Mercury Vapor 
400 Watt Mercury Vapor TV 
150 Watt Sodium Vapor Cobra Head 
250 Watt Sodium Vapor Cobra Head 
250 Watt Sodium Vapor Shoebox 
400 Watt Metal Halide Cobra Head 
400 Watt Metal Halide Flood TV 
400 Watt Metal Halide Shoebox 
250 Watt Metal Halide Cobra Head 
250 Watt Metal Halide Decashield 
150 Watt SV TOB 
175 Watt MV TOB 
250 Watt SV TOB 
250 Watt Metal Halide TOB 
400 Watt MV TOB 
400 Watt SV TOB 
250 Watt Metal Halide TOB 
750 Watt SV TOB 

Shakespeare Fiberglass Bronze Poles 
30' Wood Pole 
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Monthly Charge 

$ 12.86 
$ 24.71 
$ 13.86 
$ 18.79 
$ 21.17 
$ 27.13 
$ 27.48 
$ 29.45 
$ 19.48 
$ 19.18 
$ 6.61 
$ 7.71 
$ 11.02 
$ 11.02 
$ 17.63 
$17.63 
$17.63 
$ 33.06 

$ 12.83 
$ 4.33 



Rider 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the monthly fixture charges based on the estimated kWh usage per 
light fixture. 

PPAC&CACR- Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 
of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
( except holidays). 
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EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery Rider 

Schedule "PPAC&CACR" 

Since January 1, 2021, New River Light & Power Company ("NRLP") has received 
wholesale power supply from Carolina Power Partners LLC ("CPP"). Prior to 
receiving wholesale power supply from CPP, NRLP received wholesale power supply 
from Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation ("BREMCO") which, in turn, 
receives power supply from Duke Energy Carolinas ("DEC"). The cost of wholesale 
power from DEC was passed through to NRLP from BREMCO. 

Purchased Power Adjustment Clause 

Service supplied under NRLP's rate schedules are subject to approved purchased 
power cost adjustments, if any, over or under the rate set forth in the approved rate 
schedules. Adjustments are made pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 62-
133.2 and North Carolina Utilities Commission Rule RB-55 as ordered by the North 
Carolina Utilities Commission. 

All electric services supplied under NRLP's rate schedules are subject to an 
increment per kWh as periodically filed by NRLP and approved by the North 
Carolina Utilities Commission. 
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Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

Effective July 1, 2017, the power supply agreement between DEC and BREMCO was 
amended to allow recovery of costs to comply with (i) the North Carolina Coal Ash 
Management Act 2014 N. C. Sess. Laws 122; 2014 N.C. Ch. 122; 2013 N. C. SB 729, as 
amended June 2015 by the Mountain Energy Act, N. C. SB716 as further amended by 
the Drinking Water Protection/Coal Ash Cleanup Act, House Bill 603/S.L. 2016-95, 
and (ii) The Hazardous and Solid Waste Management System: Disposal of Coal 
Combustion Residuals from Electric Utilities promulgated by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency and published on April 17, 2015, 80 Fed. Reg 
21302, as may be amended from time to time ("Coal Ash Costs11

). 

This Coal Ash Cost Recovery ("CACR11
) provides for a charge or credit to NRLP's 

customers to recover charges from BREMCO for recovery of DEC's Coal Ash Costs. 
This Schedule CACR is applicable to all NRLP Rate Schedules. This adjustment is not 
included in the rate schedules of NRLP and therefore, must be applied to the bill as 
periodically filed by NRLP and approved by the North Carolina Utilities Commission. 
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Deposit: 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Miscellaneous Service Charges 

Schedule "MS" 

The Company may require a deposit before beginning service or before reestablishing 
service or in the event of a material change of circumstances as allowed by the Rules 
and Regulations of the North Carolina Utilities Commission (Commission). The 
amount of the deposit and the interest paid on deposits will be in accordance with the 
Rules and Regulations of the Commission. The Company may require an increase or 
allow a decrease in the deposit if changes occur in the amount of bills rendered to the 
Customer. The Company may refund a deposit at any time. When service is 
discontinued, the Company will refund the deposit plus any accumulated interest, less 
any unpaid bills. 

Connect Charge: 

When the Company first supplies electricity under any rate schedule, the Customer 
shall pay the Company a connection charge of $11.50. This charge shall become a part 
of the first bill rendered to Customer for electricity supplied at such premises. The 
connection charge applies to any new service set up which requires a field trip to read 
the meter, install a meter, connect a meter or install new facilities. 

Connect Charge Commercial Temporary: 

When the Company supplies temporary electricity under Schedule G or Schedule GL, 
the Customer shall pay the Company a connection charge of $15.00. This charge shall 
become a part of the first bill rendered to Customer for electricity supplied at such 
premises. The connection charge applies to any commercial temporary service which 
requires a field trip to read the meter, install a meter, connect a meter or install new 
facilities . 

Reconnect Fee: 

In case of discontinuance of service for any reason except repairs or other necessary 
work by the Company, the Customer shall pay the Company a reconnect charge before 
service will be restored as follows: 

Regular Working Hours - If reconnect service is between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., 
Monday through Friday (except holidays), the fee will be $25.00. 

After Regular Working Hours - If reconnect service is during the evenings, weekends 
or holidays, the fee will be $60.00. 
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Returned Payment Fee: 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

When a check, electronic check, bank draft, debit card or credit card tendered for 
payment of a Customer's account, is subsequently returned by a financial institution 
due to a failure of the issuer's financial institution to honor the payment for good and 
sufficient reason, a $21.00 fee will be charged to the Customer for each such returned 
payment. The Company, at its option for good cause, may refuse to accept a check, 
electronic check, debit card, or credit card tendered as payment on a Customer's 
account. 

Extra Facilities Charge: 

At the request of the Customer, the Company will furnish, install, own and maintain 
facilities which are in addition to those necessary for delivery of service at one point, 
through one meter, at one voltage, in accordance with the applicable rate schedule. 
Such additional facilities will be in accordance with the following provisions: 

1. "Extra Facilities" shall consist of the following as may be required: voltage 
regulators, circuit breakers, duplicate service, transformers, substations, connecting 
lines, off-site facilities or other equipment installed for the use of the contracting 
Customer, other than facilities which the Company would furnish to the Customer 
without cost under its applicable rate schedule. 

2. The monthly "Extra Facilities Charge" shall be equal to 0.9% of the installed 
cost of the facilities, but not less than $25, shall be billed to the Customer in addition 
to the billing for energy, or for demand plus energy, in accordance with the applicable 
rate schedule. 

3. The "installed cost of extra facilities" shall be the original cost of material used, 
including spare equipment, if any, plus applicable labor, transportation, stores, tax, 
engineering and general expenses, all estimated if not known. 

The Company shall have the option of refusing requests for extra facilities if, on its 
own determination, the requested facilities are not feasible, or may adversely affect 
the Company's service to other customers. 
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Availa bility 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
LED Lighting Service 

Schedule "LEDL" 

This service is available to all customers of the Company to be used to light outdoor 
areas, private streets, and driveways. 

Condition of Service 

All facilities necessary to provide this service including fixtures, lamps, controls, 
poles, other structures, hardware, transformers, and conductors will be owned and 
maintained by the Company unless otherwise noted. For all Company owned 
facilities, the Company will replace burned-out lamps and otherwise maintain the 
lumina ries during regular working hours as soon as practicable following notification 
by the Customer of the necessity. 

All Customers must enter into a contract with the Company prior to the Company 
providing requested service. 

All Customers will provide deposit security of 50% of the charges, based on the 
current retail rate, for the contract period unless Customer owns the premises, 
provide a guarantor and/or has through payment history established a good credit 
rating as defined by having no more than two (2) delinquent payments during 
preceding twelve (12) months. Company will pay interest on the deposit at an annual 
rate of 8% beginning with the 91 st day of service. 

Should Customer request termination of service prior to completing contract time, 
Customer will be responsible for payment of charges for the remaining months using 
the monthly rate at the time contract was signed. This payment is due in lump sum 
at the time of requesting discontinuance of service. 

Temporary Service 

Request for temporary lighting which includes seasonal customer, carnivals, flea 
markets, fairs, etc. will be available at the Company's option. The Customer will be 
subject to an in-and-out charge, which will consist of the labor to install and remove, 
material installed less the anticipated value at removal, to be paid in advance. No 
contract will be required for service. 
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Lighting Fixtures and Poles 

50 Watt Yard Light (No Longer Available) 
96 Watt LED TV Bronze 
101 Watt LED Bronze Cobra Head 
110 Watt LED (No Longer Available) 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

Monthly Charge 

$ 4.57 
$10.43 
$ 12.93 
$ 7.96 

119 Area Light LED Shoebox (No Longer Available) 
160 Watt Cobra Head LED 

$ 11.19 
$ 12.16 

20 Watt LED TOB 
27 Watt LED TOB 
40 Watt LED TOB 
50 Watt LED TOB 
80 Watt LED TOB 
92 Watt LED TOB 
100 Watt LEO TOB 
106 Watt LED TOB 
110 Watt LED TOB 
120 Watt LED TOB 
136 Watt LED TOB 
150 Watt LED TOB 
180 Watt LED TOB 

Shakespeare Fiberglass Bronze Poles 
30' Wood Pole 

Rider 

$ 0.88 
$ 1.19 
$ 1.76 
$ 2.20 
$ 3.53 
$ 4.06 
$ 4.41 
$ 4.67 
$ 4.85 
$ 5.29 
$ 6.00 
$ 6.61 
$ 7.93 

$12.83 
$ 4.33 

The following rider is applicable to service supplied under this schedule. The 
currently approved kWh charges (increment or decrement) for the following rider 
will be added to the monthly fixture charges based on the estimated kWh usage per 
light fixture. 

PPAC&CACR Purchased Power Adjustment Clause and Coal Ash Cost Recovery 

Payment 

Bills under this schedule are due and payable as of the billing date, or, if not received 
by said billing date, upon receipt. Bills are considered past due twenty-five (25) days 
after the billing date. Past due accounts are subject to disconnection after expiration 

20 

141077253.1 - 12/21/2022 2:47:54 PM 



EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
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E-34, SUB 54 

of past due procedures. Bills that are past due will be assessed a one percent (1 %) 
late payment charge. 

Re-connection of service after disconnection will be made upon payment of bill in full. 
A reconnect charge of $25.00 will be applied during regular working hours and 
$60.00 per reconnect will be charged for reconnects made after regular working 
hours. 

Regular working hours are between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 
(except holidays). 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Non-Standard Meter Rider 

Schedule "NSMR" 

Availability 

Available to customers of New River Light & Power Company (NRLP). 

Applicability 

This Rider is available on a voluntary basis to customers who elect to have a non­
standard meter that requires a manual meter read in lieu of a standard AMI meter 
which does not require a manual meter read ("Opt-Out Customer"). Customers who 
fail to provide reasonable access to premises, request to Opt-Out or otherwise 
prevent replacement of the non-standard meter with a standard AMI meter shall be 
deemed to have elected to take service under Rider NSMR, provided they are not 
prohibited from doing so pursuant to the "Limitation of Service" provision of this 
NSMR. Service under this schedule shall be provided with a non-communicating 
meter of NRLP's choice. 

Limitation of Service 

This Rider is available to customers who have not tampered with the electric meter 
service or used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. This Rider will 
remain available as long as non-standard meter options are reasonably available and 
are supported by the manufacturers. 

Charges 

All charges and provisions of the Opt-Out Customer's otherwise applicable electric 
service rate schedule shall apply. In addition, Opt-Out Customers who elect service 
under this Rider will be charged an Initial Setup Fee and a recurring Monthly 
Surcharge. 

Initial Setup Fee: $77.00 

Monthly Surcharge: $14.25 

Term of Service 

Service under this Rate Schedule NSMR shall be for a minimum of one (1) billing 
period. An Opt-Out Customer wishing to discontinue this service will be subject to 
the current Reconnect Fee to reinstate the customer into NRLP's standard metering 
service. 
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Ava il ability 

EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Net Billing Rider for Renewable Energy Facilities 

Schedule "NBR" 

This Rider is available to Customers on New River Light and Power Company's 
(NRLP) Rate Schedules R, G and GL who operate a photovoltaic (PV) generation 
source of energy that is installed on the Customer's side of the delivery point, for the 
Customer's own use, and interconnected with and operated in parallel with the 
Company's distribution system. 

The rated AC capacity of the PV generation source shall not be designed to exceed the 
Customer's anticipated annual peak kilowatt demand or 20 kilowatts (kW) for a 
residential system or 1,000 kW for a non-residential system, whichever is less. Any 
PV generation source connected in parallel operation with service from NRLP and 
located on the Customer's premises must be manufactured, installed, and operated in 
accordance with all applicable government regulatory and industry standards and 
must fully conform with the NRLP's applicable interconnection standards. 

Monthly Rate 

The bill amount will be computed under the applicable rate schedule, including any 
other applicable riders. Energy Charges (or Credits) shall be based on the net kilowatt 
hours (kWh) purchased from or delivered to NRLP for the bill month. For any bill 
month during which the Energy Charges are a net credit, the respective Energy 
Charges for the month shall be zero. Any Energy Credits shall carry forward on the 
following month's bill. Effective on January 1 of each year, any accrued credit will be 
reset to zero. Credits shall not offset the Basic Facilities Charge or the Demand Charge. 

NRLP will also charge Customer a Standby Supplemental Charge (SSC) for 
distribution facilities required to serve the Customer's full load at times when the PV 
generation energy source is not available. The monthly bill amount to Customer 
under this NBR Rider will include an SSC. 

Standby Supplemental Charge: $6.17 per kW per month of AC nameplate capacity of 
the PV generation energy source installed. 

Rid er Reguirements and Condi tions 
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1. The Customer must complete an interconnection request and submit same 
to NRLP prior to receiving service under this Rider. 

2. In the event NRLP determines that it is necessary to install a dedicated 
transformer or other equipment to protect the safety and adequacy of 
electric service provided to other customers, the Customer shall pay an 
Extra Facilities Charge as identified in NRLP's Schedule MS. 

3. By subscribing to this Rider, the Customer grants NRLP access to 
Customer's property and premises as necessary to test the Customer's PY 
generation energy source for compliance with the applicable 
interconnection standards of NRLP. Should it be determined that the 
Customer's installation is in violation, NRLP will disconnect the PY 
generation energy source from NRLP's distribution system. The PY 
generation energy source will remain disconnected until the installation is 
brought back into compliance. 

4. If the Customer is not the owner of the premises receiving electric service 
from NRLP, the owner of the premises, at NLRP's request, must give 
satisfactory written approval of the Customer's acceptance of service 
under this Rider. 

Contract Period 

The Initial Period for service under this Rider shall be one year and thereafter shall 
be automatically renewed for successive one-year periods. After the initial period, the 
Customer may terminate service under this Rider by giving at least sixty (60) days 
prior written notice to NRLP of such termination. NRLP may terminate this service 
under the terms of the Customer's applicable Rate Schedule or for violation of any 
requirement or condition of this Rider. 

25 

141077253.l -12/21/20222:47:54PM 



EXHIBIT B TO RATE CASE APPLICATION 
PROPOSED RATES 

E-34, SUB 54 

New River Light and Power Company 
Interruptible Rate Rider 

Schedule "IR" 
Availability 

This Rider is available in conjunction with New River Light and Power Company's 
(NRLP) Rate Schedule GL to Customers who have the ability to interrupt all or a 
portion of their connected load to NRLP's system. 

The Customer must have a total load requirement of at least 2 MW and have the ability 
to curtail at least 75% of its electric load. 

Mon thly Interruptibl e Rate 

If the Customer is successful in reducing its demand from NRLP's system during the 
actual hour of NRLP's monthly coincident peak (CP) demand for purposes of 
calculating its capacity costs from Carolina Power Partners, the customer will receive 
a credit of $14.26 per kW of load reduced at the time of CP. NRLP will assist the 
Customer with estimating these CP times each month to reduce the number of 
curtailable hours but does not guarantee that the Customer's demand will be reduced 
on the actual CP hour for each month. The calculation of this credit will be determined 
no later than the 15th of the month following the month of curtailment. 
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New River Light and Power Company 
Purchased Power from Renewable Energy Facilities (a.k.a. Buy All/ Sell All) 

Schedule "PPR" 

Availability 

This Schedule is available to Sellers who operate a photovoltaic (PV) generation 
energy source in parallel with New River Light and Power Company's (NRLP) system. 
The Seller's PV generation energy source must be located at a site that would allow 
interconnection with NRLP's distribution system. 

The rated AC capacity of the PV generation energy source shall not be designed to 
exceed 1,000 kilowatts (kW). The PV generation energy source connected in parallel 
operation with NRLP must be manufactured, installed, and operated in accordance 
with all applicable government regulatory and industry standards and must fully 
conform with the NRLP's applicable interconnection standards. 

For generation facilities, other than those described above, that fall under the 
definition of Qualifying Facilities as defined by the Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission's Order No. 70 under Docket No. RM79-54 and 18 C.F.R. §§ 292.203, 
292.204, and 292.205, the reimbursement for purchased power from these other 
Qualifying Facilities is based on NRLP's Schedules Rate SPP Demand, Rate SPP No 
Demand and Rate SP Fixed as established by North Carolina Utilities Commission. 

Type of Service 

NRLP will receive 60 cycle service through one meter, at one delivery point, at one of 
the following approximate voltages where available: 

Single Phase 120/240 volts, or 
Three Phase 120/208Y volts, or 
Other available voltages at NRLP's option. 

The type of service supplied will depend upon the voltage available. Prospective 
Sellers should ascertain the available system voltage at NRLP's office in Boone, NC, 
before purchasing equipment. 

Monthly Rate 

NRLP shall pay for energy delivered to NRLP under this Schedule at the energy credits 
set forth below. 

Energy Credit: $0.089039 per kWh per month. 
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This Energy Credit is subject to change with each of NRLP's future Purchased Power 
Adjustment Clause filings as referenced in NRLP's Schedule "PPAC&CACR". 

Rider Reguirements a nd Condi tions 

1. The Seller must complete an interconnection request and submit same to 
NRLP prior to receiving service under this Schedule. 

2. In the event NRLP determines that it is necessary to install a dedicated 
transformer or other equipment to protect the safety and adequacy of 
electric service provided to other customers, the Seller shall pay an Extra 
Facilities Charge as identified in NRLP's Schedule MS. 

3. By subscribing to this Rider, the Customer grants NRLP access to 
Customer's property and premises as necessary to test the Seller's PV 
generation energy source for compliance with the applicable 
interconnection standards of NRLP. Should it be determined that the 
Seller's installation is in violation, NRLP will disconnect the PV generation 
energy source from NRLP's distribution system. The PV generation energy 
source will remain disconnected until the installation is brought back into 
compliance. 

4. If the Seller is not the owner of the premises where the PV generation 
energy source is located, the owner of the premises, at NLRP's request, 
must give satisfactory written approval of the Seller's acceptance of service 
under this Schedule. 

Contract Period 

The Initial Period for service under this Schedule shall be one year and thereafter 
shall be automatically renewed for successive one-year periods. After the initial 
period, the Seller may terminate service under this Schedule by giving at least sixty 
(60) days prior written notice to NRLP of such termination. NRLP may terminate this 
service under the terms of the Customer's applicable Rate Schedule or for violation of 
any requirement or condition of this Rider. 
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