
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 
UTILITIES COMMISSION 

RALEIGH 

DOCKET NO. E-7, SUB 1305 

BEFORE THE NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION 

In the Matter of 
Application of Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, 
for Approval of Demand-Side Management 
and Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Rider 
Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 62-133.9 and 
Commission Rule R8-69 
 

 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

 
ORDER SCHEDULING HEARING, 
ESTABLISHING PROCEDURAL 
AND FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND 
REQUIRING PUBLIC NOTICE 

BY THE CHAIR: In August 2007, North Carolina enacted comprehensive energy 
legislation, Session Law 2007-397 (Senate Bill 3), that, among other things, established a 
Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Portfolio Standard for this State and a revised 
procedure for cost recovery of demand-side management (DSM) and energy 
efficiency (EE) expenditures. North Carolina General Statute Section 62-133.9(d) provides 
for an annual DSM/EE rider for each electric public utility to recover all reasonable and 
prudent costs incurred for adoption and implementation of new DSM and new EE measures 
and appropriate incentives. Commission Rule R8-69(b) also provides for the establishment 
of a DSM/EE experience modification factor (EMF) rider to allow the electric public utility to 
collect the difference between reasonable and prudently incurred costs and the revenues 
that were actually realized during the test period under the DSM/EE rider then in effect. 
Rule R8-69(e) further provides that the annual DSM/EE cost recovery rider hearing for each 
electric public utility will be scheduled as soon as practicable after the annual fuel and fuel-
related charge adjustment proceeding hearing held by the Commission for the electric 
public utility under Rule R8-55. Rule R8-69(f) provides that each electric public utility shall 
publish notice at least 30 days prior to the hearing. 

On February 27, 2024, DEC filed its application in the above-captioned docket. By 
its application, DEC requests a DSM/EE cost recovery rider effective for service rendered 
on and after January 1, 2025. By its application, DEC requests a total annual revenue 
requirement of approximately $163 million for inclusion in the DSM/EE rider authorized by 
the statute and Commission Rule. The request, including the regulatory fee, would result in 
an increase of 0.118 cents per kilowatt-hour (kWh) for residential customers, and thus an 
increase of about $1.18 in the monthly bill of a residential customer using 1,000 kWh of 
electricity. The effect of the request on current non-residential customers would depend 
upon each customer’s particular participation in DEC's DSM or EE programs over the 
years. The rates of non-residential customers who have participated in all of DEC’s DSM 
and EE programs since 2019 would decrease by 0.1365 cents per kWh. Nonresidential 
customers participating in DEC's DSM programs beginning in 2025 would pay DSM/EE 
rider charges of 0.1161 cents per kWh, and nonresidential customers participating in DEC's 
EE programs beginning in 2025 would pay DSM/EE rider charges of 0.3591 cents per kWh. 
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Non-residential customers may obtain detailed information about the rider increases or 
decreases applicable to their particular circumstances by contacting their DEC account 
representatives directly or DEC's Customer Service number at 1-800-777-9898. Industrial 
and large commercial customers that have opted out of and never participated in DEC's 
DSM and EE programs pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-133.9 are not subject to the DSM/EE 
rider. 

The Commission finds good cause to issue the present Order scheduling this matter 
for public hearing, establishing procedural and filing requirements, and requiring public 
notice. The guidelines regarding discovery in this docket, subject to modification for good 
cause shown, are as follows: 

1. Any deposition shall be taken before the deadline for the filing of the Public 
Staff and other intervenor prefiled direct testimony. Notice of deposition shall be served on 
all parties at least 7 calendar days prior to the taking of the deposition. Notice of deposition 
and all other discovery notices, requests and motions shall be served on the appropriate 
parties by hand delivery or facsimile, or by electronic delivery if the receiving party has 
agreed to receipt by electronic delivery. 

2. Any motion for subpoena of a witness to appear at the expert witness hearing 
shall be filed with the Commission before the deadline for the filing of the Public Staff and 
other intervenor testimony, shall be served on the person sought to be subpoenaed at or 
before the time of filing with the Commission, and shall make a reasonable showing that 
the evidence of such person will be material and relevant to an issue in the proceeding. 
See N.C.G.S. § 62-62. Unless an objection is filed, the Chief Clerk shall issue the requested 
subpoena within 2 business days after such a motion is filed. 

3. Formal discovery requests related to the application and DEC's prefiled direct 
and supplemental testimony shall be served on DEC not later than 14 calendar days prior 
to the filing of the Public Staff and other intervenor direct testimony. The party served shall 
have up to 10 calendar days to file with the Commission objections to the discovery 
requests on an item-by-item basis, but in no event shall objections be filed later than 
10 calendar days prior to the deadline for the filing of the Public Staff and other intervenor 
direct testimony. 

4. Formal discovery requests related to the Public Staff and other intervenors 
prefiled direct testimony shall be served no later than 5 calendar days after such testimony 
is filed. The party served shall have up to 3 business days to file with the Commission 
objections to the discovery requests on an item-by-item basis, but in no event shall 
objections be filed later than 9 calendar days after the filing of the Public Staff or other 
intervenor direct testimony. 

5. Formal discovery requests related to DEC’s prefiled rebuttal testimony shall 
be served no later than 3 business days after such testimony is filed. The party served shall 
have up to 3 calendar days to file with the Commission objections to the discovery requests 
on an item-by-item basis, but in no event shall objections be filed later than 3 business days 
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after the filing of DEC’s rebuttal testimony. Discovery related to rebuttal testimony shall be 
limited to new material introduced in such rebuttal testimony and will be carefully scrutinized 
upon objection that such discovery should have been sought during the initial period of 
discovery. 

6. Discovery requests need not be filed with the Commission when served; 
however, any party filing objections shall attach a copy of the relevant discovery request to 
the objections. Each discovery request, or part thereof, to which no objection is filed shall 
be answered by the time objections are due, subject to other agreement of the affected 
parties or other order of the Commission. Upon the filing of objections, the party seeking 
discovery shall have 2 calendar days to file with the Commission a motion to compel, and 
the party objecting to discovery shall have 1 calendar day thereafter to file a response. All 
objections, motions to compel, and responses shall be served on the other affected party 
at or before the time of filing with the Commission. 

7. A party shall not be granted an extension of time to pursue discovery due to 
that party's late intervention or other delay in initiating discovery. 

The Chair urges all parties to work in a cooperative manner and to attempt to 
accommodate discovery within the time available. The Commission recognizes that in the 
past, most discovery has been conducted in an informal manner without the need for 
Commission involvement or enforcement, and that such has been generally successful. 
The above guidelines are without prejudice to the parties conducting informal discovery or 
exchanging information by agreement at any time with the understanding that such will not 
be enforceable by the Commission if outside the guidelines. 

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED as follows: 

1. That a public hearing for the purpose of considering the annual DSM/EE cost 
recovery proceeding for DEC shall be, and is hereby, scheduled to begin immediately 
following the hearing in Docket No. E-7, Sub 1304, which is scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. 
on Monday, June 10, 2024, in Commission Hearing Room 2115, Dobbs Building, 430 North 
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina; 

2. That any person having an interest in this proceeding may file a petition to 
intervene stating such interest on or before Monday, May 20, 2024; 

3. That the direct testimony and exhibits of the Public Staff and other intervenors 
shall be filed on or before Monday, May 20, 2024; 

4. That DEC may file rebuttal testimony and exhibits on or before Wednesday, 
May 29, 2024; 

5. That all parties filing supporting exhibits in either PDF or Excel format shall 
provide the Commission Staff electronic versions of the exhibits filed in native Excel format 
via email at NCUCexhibits@ncuc.gov, including all of the supporting worksheets and 
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formulas, within three days of the filing of such exhibits (or within three business days of 
the issuance of this order if already filed with the Commission), and that DEC and all other 
parties filing exhibits and workpapers that include tables of numbers and calculations shall 
provide the Public Staff and any other party upon request an electronic version of all such 
exhibits and workpapers, with formulas intact; 

6. That DEC shall publish the Notice attached hereto as Appendix A in a 
newspaper or newspapers having general circulation in its service area once a week for 
two successive weeks beginning at least 30 days prior to the hearing; 

7. That DEC shall file affidavits of publication on or before the date of the 
hearing; and 

8. That the parties shall comply with the discovery guidelines established 
herein. 

ISSUED BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION. 

This the 15th day of March, 2024. 

NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION 
 

 
A. Shonta Dunston, Chief Clerk 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 
UTILITIES COMMISSION 

RALEIGH 

DOCKET NO. E-7, SUB 1305 

BEFORE THE NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION 

In the Matter of 
Application of Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, 
for  Approval of Demand-Side Management 
and Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Rider 
Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 62-133.9 and 
Commission Rule R8-69 
 

 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

 
 
 
PUBLIC NOTICE 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the North Carolina Utilities Commission has 
scheduled a public hearing in the annual DSM/EE cost recovery proceeding for Duke 
Energy Carolinas, LLC (DEC). The public hearing is scheduled to begin immediately 
following the hearing in Docket No. E-7, Sub 1304 which is scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. 
on Monday, June 10, 2024, in Commission Hearing Room 2115, Dobbs Building, 430 North 
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina. Public witness testimony will be received in 
accordance with Commission Rule R1-21(g).  

This proceeding is being held pursuant to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. 
§ 62-133.9 and Commission Rule R8-69, and for the purpose of determining whether an 
increment or decrement rider is required to allow DEC to recover all reasonable and prudent 
costs incurred for adoption and implementation of new DSM and new EE measures and 
appropriate incentives. 

On February 27, 2024, DEC filed its application in the above-captioned docket. By 
its application, DEC requests a DSM/EE cost recovery rider effective for service rendered 
on and after January 1, 2025.  

By its application, DEC requests a total annual revenue requirement of 

approximately $163 million for inclusion in the DSM/EE rider authorized by the statute and 

Commission Rule. The request, including the regulatory fee, would result in an increase of 

0.118 cents per kilowatt-hour (kWh) for residential customers, and thus an increase of about 

$1.18 in the monthly bill of a residential customer using 1,000 kWh of electricity. The effect 

of the request on current non-residential customers would depend upon each customer’s 

particular participation in DEC's DSM or EE programs over the years. The rates of non-

residential customers who have participated in all of DEC’s DSM and EE programs since 

2019 would decrease by 0.1365 cents per kWh. Nonresidential customers participating in 

DEC's DSM programs beginning in 2025 would pay DSM/EE rider charges of 0.1161 cents 

per kWh, and nonresidential customers participating in DEC's EE programs beginning in 

2025 would pay DSM/EE rider charges of 0.3591 cents per kWh. Non-residential 

customers may obtain detailed information about the rider increases or decreases 
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applicable to their particular circumstances by contacting their DEC account 

representatives directly or DEC's Customer Service number at 1-800-777-9898. Industrial 

and large commercial customers that have opted out of and never participated in DEC's 

DSM and EE programs pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-133.9 are not subject to the DSM/EE 

rider. 

Further information may be obtained from the Office of the Chief Clerk, North 
Carolina Utilities Commission, Dobbs Building, 5th Floor, 430 North Salisbury Street, 
Raleigh, North Carolina, where a copy of DEC's application and testimony is available for 
review by the public, or on the Commission's website at www.ncuc.gov. 

The Public Staff is authorized by statute to represent consumers in proceedings 
before the Commission. Written statements to the Public Staff should include any 
information that the writers wish to be considered by the Public Staff in its investigation of 
the matter. Such statements should be addressed to Mr. Christopher J. Ayers, Executive 
Director, Public Staff 4326 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4300. 

The Attorney General is also authorized by statute to represent consumers in 
proceedings before the Commission. Statements to the Attorney General should be 
addressed to The Honorable Josh Stein, Attorney General, c/o Consumer Protection-
Utilities, 9001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-9001. Written 
statements may be emailed to utilityAGO@ncdoj.gov.  

Written statements are not evidence unless persons appear at a public hearing and 
testify concerning the information contained in their written statements. 

Any person desiring to intervene in the proceeding as a formal party of record should 
file a petition under North Carolina Utilities Commission Rules R1-5 and R1-19 on or before 
Monday, May 20, 2024. Such petitions should be filed with the Chief Clerk of the North 
Carolina Utilities Commission, 4325 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-
4300. The direct testimony and exhibits of expert witnesses to be presented by intervenors 
should also be filed with the Commission on or before Monday, May 20, 2024. 

ISSUED BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION. 

This the 15th day of March, 2024. 

NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION 
 

 
A. Shonta Dunston, Chief Clerk 

mailto:utilityAGO@ncdoj.gov

