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BEFORE THE NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION 

In the Matter of 
Biennial Determination of Avoided Cost 
Rates for Electric Utility Purchases from 
Qualifying Facilities – 2018 

) 
) 
) 

ORDER DISMISSING 
NOTICE OF APPEAL 

BY THE COMMISSION: On April 15, 2020, in the above-captioned docket the 
Commission issued its Order Establishing Standard Rates and Contract Terms for 
Qualifying Facilities in its 2018 biennial avoided cost proceeding pursuant to the 
provisions of Section 210 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA) 
and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 62-156 (April 15 Order). 

On May 8, 2020, the North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association and the North 
Carolina Clean Energy Business Alliance (together, Appellants), each parties to this 
proceeding, jointly filed a motion for an extension of time to file notice of appeal and 
exceptions pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) seeking an additional 30 days within which 
to appeal the Commission’s April 15 Order. 

On May 13, 2020, the Commission issued an order granting Appellants’ joint 
motion, allowing all parties an additional 30 days within which to file a notice of appeal 
and exceptions in this proceeding as provided in N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a). 

On Monday, June 15, 2020, 61 days after issuance of the April 15 Order, 
Appellants jointly filed a motion for reconsideration. 

On July 21, 2020, 36 days after Appellants’ filing, the Commission issued an order 
denying Appellants’ motion for reconsideration (July 21 Order). 

On August 20, 2020, 30 days after issuance of the July 21 Order and 127 days 
after issuance of the April 15 Order, Appellants jointly filed notice of appeal with one 
exception, that to Findings of Fact Nos. 49-51 in the April 15 Order and the corresponding 
Evidence and Conclusions for Findings of Fact Nos. 49-52 (Notice of Appeal). 

On September 10, 2020, Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, and Duke Energy Progress, 
LLC (together, Duke), filed a motion to dismiss Appellants’ appeal as untimely pursuant 
to N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) and the North Carolina Court of Appeals decision in State ex rel. 
Utilities Commission v. MCI Telecommunications Corp., 132 N.C. App. 625, 514 S.E.2d 
276 (1999) (MCI). Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) parties must file notice of appeal from 
an order of the Commission within 30 days after entry of the order unless such time period 
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is extended by the Commission. Duke notes that the Commission granted such an 
extension of time in this case, resulting in a 60-day period for parties to file notice of 
appeal. Duke further states that if a motion for reconsideration is filed, as was the case 
here, under MCI the time for filing notice of appeal is tolled from the date of the filing of 
the motion for reconsideration until the date that the Commission enters an order deciding 
the motion for reconsideration. Based on MCI, however, Duke concludes that when 
accounting for this tolling period, 90 days elapsed before Appellants filed their notice of 
appeal, which is in excess of the statutory maximum 60-day period after the April 15 Order 
was issued, and the notice of appeal was, thus, untimely. Therefore, Duke requests that 
the Commission enter an order dismissing Appellants’ appeal. 

On September 21, 2020, Appellants jointly filed a response in opposition to Duke’s 
motion to dismiss, advancing two arguments: first, that Duke’s position is contrary to 
statutory authority and caselaw and, second, that Duke’s position is “completely 
unworkable from a procedural standpoint.” Appellants Response at 5. In support of their 
first argument Appellants state that Duke has failed to cite or acknowledge relevant 
precedential authority in State ex rel. Utilities Commission v. Norfolk Southern Railway Co., 
224 N.C. 762, 765, 32 S.E.2d 346, 348 (1944) (Norfolk) (“where a petition for rehearing 
is filed before the time for appeal has expired, it tolls the running of the time and appeal 
may be taken within the statutory time for appeal from the date of denial of the petition for 
rehearing”), and that Duke has inappropriately relied upon dicta in MCI. The holding in 
Norfolk, they argue, is consistent with Rule 3(c) of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate 
Procedure, which provides that upon a timely motion for post-judgment relief, “the thirty-
day period for taking appeal is tolled as to all parties until entry of an order disposing of 
the motion and then runs as to each party from the date of entry of the order . . . .” 
Appellants Response at 7 (quoting Rule 3(c)(3)). This Rule, they note, “reflects the 
‘common sense notion that certain post-judgment motions should be resolved before 
appeal, as the disposition of those motions may alter the substantive contours of the 
appeal or even obviate the need for appeal altogether.’” Id. at 8 (quoting Scherer & 
Leerberg, North Carolina Appellate Practice and Procedure § 5.04[4][a] (2019)). 

Appellants acknowledge that the Commission’s order of May 13, 2020, granting 
an extension of time established June 15, 2020, as the deadline for the filing of a notice 
of appeal — that is, 60 days from the date that the April 15 Order was issued. They further 
acknowledge that “long-standing North Carolina caselaw” provides that the timely filing of 
a motion for reconsideration pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-80 tolls the time for a party to file 
notice of appeal until the Commission issues an order on the motion for reconsideration. 
They argue, however, that the intervening consideration of Appellants’ motion for 
reconsideration and the Commission’s denial of that motion provided new and additional 
discussion and conclusions:  

Consistent with North Carolina law, the Appellants’ Notice of Appeal is 
timely, as it was filed within thirty days of issuance of the Reconsideration 
Order. . . . Appellants filed their Motion for Reconsideration before the time 
for seeking appellate review of the Avoided Cost Order expired. However, 
the Commission’s decision in the Reconsideration Order about material 
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alterations to existing QF contracts did not resolve that issue or prevent the 
need for an appeal. In fact, the Commission’s new and additional 
Discussion and Conclusions in the Reconsideration Order about material 
alterations to existing contracts made it clear that appeal of that issue is 
necessary. 

Id. at 5-6. In short, based on Norfolk and Appellate Rule 3(c), Appellants argue that the 
current law provides that if a motion for reconsideration is filed with the Commission 
before the appeal period expires, then the 30-day appeal period “starts over” and begins 
to run upon entry of the order denying reconsideration. Appellants further argue that 
Duke’s reliance on MCI is misplaced. They argue that the holding in MCI was that the 
days that pass while a motion for reconsideration is pending do not count toward the 
running of an appeal period.  

The MCI Court did not consider or need to decide, however, whether the 
appeal period begins anew once a reconsideration order is entered. 
Consequently, MCI did not rule that an appellant does not have the full thirty-
day appeal period once a reconsideration order is entered — a ruling that 
would be inconsistent with Norfolk and incongruous with the U.S. Supreme 
Court precedent it relied upon. Duke’s argument — when counting days for 
an appeal period, the appealing party must continue counting following an 
order on a motion for reconsideration, rather than starting over — relies on 
MCI for a holding that it did not make, while ignoring controlling North 
Carolina Supreme Court precedent and Appellate Rule 3.  

Id. at 9. 

In support of their second argument that a 30-day appeal period after entry of a 
reconsideration order is necessary from a procedural standpoint, Appellants argue that 
not allowing the full 30-day appeal period after a reconsideration order “would be 
completely unworkable and in conflict with important policy objectives.” Id. They first 
reiterate that the Commission’s order denying reconsideration included new and 
additional discussion and conclusions, and, therefore, the appeal period properly 
commences from entry of this decision. Further, Appellants argue that Duke’s position is 
unworkable because it would have required Appellants to file their notice of appeal and 
detailed exceptions the day after they received the Commission’s order denying 
reconsideration. This result they argue, would frustrate the policy objective of allowing 
meaningful consideration of whether an appeal is necessary and what issues should be 
raised on appeal. Finally, Appellants argue that Duke’s position is inconsistent with the 
plain language of N.C.G.S. § 62-80, which provides, in part, that “any order rescinding, 
altering or amending a prior order or decision shall, when served upon the public utility 
affected, have the same effect as is herein provided for original orders or decisions.” 
Appellants’ argue that the Commission’s order denying reconsideration did not leave its 
original judgment unaltered; rather, it altered and amended the Commission’s April 15 
Order, meaning that the July 21 Order denying the motion for reconsideration constituted 
a “new” final order or decision of the Commission that is appealable within 30 days of the 
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date of its entry. In conclusion, Appellants argue that North Carolina law is clear that they 
have 30 days from the date of the July 21 Order denying reconsideration within which to 
file their notice of appeal, that they filed their notice of appeal within that time period, and 
that Duke’s motion should be denied. 

On September 30, 2020, Duke filed a reply in support of its motion to dismiss 
Appellants’ notice of appeal. Duke advances five arguments in support of its position that 
Appellants’ notice of appeal should be dismissed: first, that N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a), as 
interpreted by MCI, clearly requires dismissal of the notice of appeal; second, that 
Appellants’ attempt to analogize to Rule 3(c)(3) of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate 
Procedure should be disregarded, as that Rule does not apply; third, that Appellants’ 
policy argument that applying N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) as drafted is unworkable should be 
disregarded; fourth, that Appellants’ commentary on the discussion in the July 21 Order 
denying the motion for reconsideration should also be disregarded; and fifth, that 
Appellants do not dispute that the Commission has the procedural authority to dismiss 
the notice of appeal as untimely. Based on these arguments, Duke requests that the 
Commission enter an order dismissing Appellants’ appeal. 

In support of its first argument, Duke states that the question for Commission 
decision is one of timing under N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a). Citing MCI, Duke argues that 
N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) affords a party to a Commission proceeding a maximum of 60 days 
to appeal a final order of the Commission, setting aside any period during which a motion 
for reconsideration is pending. Further, Duke states that it recognizes that a motion for 
reconsideration “tolls the period for appealing a final order issued by the Commission 
‘from the date of the filing of the petition for rehearing to the date of the denial of that 
petition.’” Duke Reply at 2 (quoting MCI, 132 N.C. App. at 630, 514 S.E.2d at 280). Duke 
argues that Appellants’ position is that a party can wait until the 60th day to request 
reconsideration and then “tack on” an additional 30 days to file a notice of appeal after 
the Commission issues an order denying reconsideration. Duke concludes that 
Appellants’ position is incorrect as a matter of law and recounts the timing of the relevant 
filings in this proceeding to demonstrate that, in total, 90 days elapsed between the 
Commission issuing the April 15 Order and the date that Appellants filed their notice of 
appeal. In response to Appellants’ arguments relying on Norfolk, Duke states that this 
decision interpreted a prior, fundamentally different statute in that prior to 1949, former 
N.C.G.S. § 62-20 governed appeals of Commission Orders. Duke cites to Norfolk in 
arguing that the prior statute provided for rehearing on exceptions, which was mandatory 
prior to taking appeal from a Commission order or decision, in lieu of an express authority 
to grant a rehearing. This old approach, Duke argues, is fundamentally different than the 
current procedure for rehearing pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-80 and for taking appeal 
pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-90, noting that Appellants have not cited a single case in the 
past 70 years that has applied the tolling concept in the manner that Appellants have 
suggested here. In summary, Duke argues that the former law has been repealed, that 
case law interpreting such prior law is inapplicable, that there is no basis to read N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-90(a) as providing that the statutory time for appeal “starts over” after the 
Commission issues an order denying reconsideration, and that MCI appropriately applied 
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the plain language of the current statute in the same manner that Duke has done here to 
conclude that the appeal is untimely and should be dismissed. 

In its second argument that Appellants attempt to analogize Rule 3(c)(3) of the 
North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure should be disregarded, Duke states that the 
words used in that rule are quite different than the controlling language in N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-90(a). Duke argues that while Rule 3(c)(3) shows clear intent in civil trials to allow a 
full 30 days for parties to appeal after the entry of an order disposing of a post-hearing 
motion, N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) does not include similar language, and that statute has been 
clearly interpreted by the court in MCI as providing for the time for appeal of a Commission 
order to run from the date of the original order. Duke further argues that Rule 3(c) has no 
applicability or relevance to the question at issue here, and it cites to Appellate Rule 18(b) 
as providing that “‘the times and methods for taking appeals from an administrative 
tribunal shall be as provided in Rule 18 unless the General Statutes provide otherwise, in 
which case the General Statutes shall control.’” Id. at 7 (quoting Rule 18(b)). Duke 
therefore concludes that the procedure established by the General Assembly in N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-90(a) controls, and Appellate Rule 3(c) is not relevant to appeal of the Commission’s 
order in this case. 

In support of its third argument urging that the Commission disregard Appellants’ 
policy arguments, Duke states that if Appellants wanted more time to consider the 
Commission’s April 15 Order on their request for reconsideration, it was incumbent on 
them to more timely submit their petition for reconsideration. Duke argues that the 
statutory provisions are clearly set forth in N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a), and the Commission 
cannot disregard these statutory requirements due to purported hardship. In further 
support, Duke notes instances where parties to Commission proceedings have been able 
to overcome the challenges of timely filing a notice of appeal within a single day of the 
Commission’s ruling on a request for reconsideration. 

In support of its fourth argument, Duke states that Appellants’ commentary on the 
discussion in the July 21 Order denying reconsideration should also be disregarded. 
Noting that Appellants have argued that the July 21 Order altered or amended the April 
15 Order, Duke argues to the contrary that the Commission’s July 21 Order was a good 
faith effort to explain its April 15 Order in greater detail which cannot now be used to 
“end-run the statutory period for appeal.” Id. at 8. Duke concludes that the July 21 Order 
does not alter or amend the April 15 Order, and Appellants’ attempt to introduce such 
novel arguments at this stage should be rejected. 

In its fifth and final argument, Duke states that Appellants do not dispute the 
Commission’s authority to dismiss their appeal as untimely. Duke notes that as stated in its 
motion to dismiss, the Commission has jurisdiction to dismiss Appellants’ appeal until the 
appeal has been docketed in the appellate court, and Duke references several cases where 
the Commission has exercised this authority. Further, Duke argues that the appellate courts 
have no jurisdiction to hear an appeal of a final order of the Commission where the notice 
of appeal has not been timely filed. In light of this and the foregoing arguments, Duke 
requests that the Commission enter an order dismissing Appellants’ appeal. 
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DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS 

Based upon the foregoing and the entire record herein, the Commission concludes 
that Appellants’ notice of appeal was untimely filed and should be dismissed. The 
Commission has carefully considered the parties’ arguments and determines that this 
matter is resolved by reference to the plain language of the Public Utilities Act and the 
court’s decision in MCI. Appellants’ arguments to the contrary are unpersuasive as they 
rely on a misapplication of the relevant statutory provisions and a misapprehension of the 
relevant case law. Therefore, the Commission will dismiss Appellants’ notice of appeal. 

The statutes relevant to this decision are N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a), related to appeal of 
Commission orders, and N.C.G.S. § 62-80, related to rehearing or reconsideration of a 
Commission order. First, pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a): 

Any party to a proceeding before the Commission may appeal from any final 
order or decision of the Commission within 30 days after the entry of such 
final order or decision, or within such time thereafter as may be fixed by the 
Commission, not to exceed 30 additional days, and by order made within 
30 days, if the party aggrieved by such decision or order shall file with the 
Commission notice of appeal and exceptions which shall set forth 
specifically the ground or grounds on which the aggrieved party considers 
said decisions or order to be unlawful, unjust, unreasonable or unwarranted, 
and including errors alleged to have been committed by the Commission. 

Second, N.C.G.S. § 62-80 provides as follows: 

The Commission may at any time upon notice to the public utility and to the 
other parties of record affected, and after opportunity to be heard as 
provided in the case of complaints, rescind, alter or amend any order or 
decision made by it. Any order rescinding, altering or amending a prior order 
or decision shall, when served upon the public utility affected, have the 
same effect as is herein provided for original orders or decisions. 

The case primarily relied upon by Duke, and which the Commission finds to be 
dispositive, is MCI. In that case a group of competitive local providers (CLP) of 
telecommunication service filed notice of appeal from an order of the Commission 
requiring CLPs to file monthly access line reports. Similar to the procedural posture of the 
instant case, the appellants first petitioned for reconsideration, which was subsequently 
denied by the Commission. The CLPs then filed notice of appeal. The threshold question 
before the court in MCI, and not mere dicta, was the timeliness of the notice of appeal. 
As the court stated in MCI: 

Pursuant to section 62-80, the Commission has the authority, upon its own 
motion or upon motion by any party, “to reconsider its previously issued 
order, upon notice and hearing” and “upon the record already compiled, 
without requiring the institution of a new and independent proceeding by 
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complaint or otherwise.” Utilities Comm. v. Edmisten, 291 N.C. 575, 582, 
232 S.E.2d 177, 181 (1977); N.C.G.S. § 62-80 (1989). At this rehearing, the 
Commission may rescind, alter, amend, or refuse to make any change to 
its earlier order. Id. An application for rehearing pursuant to section 62-80 
“is addressed to and rests in the discretion of the [Commission].” Utilities 
Comm. v. Services Unlimited, Inc., 9 N.C. App. 590, 591, 176 S.E.2d 870, 
871 (1970). An appeal does not lie from the denial of a petition to rehear, 
as the appeal is from the original order, and the time for appealing the 
original order is tolled from the date of the filing of the petition for rehearing 
to the date of the denial of that petition. Utilities Comm. v. [Norfolk Southern] 
R.R., 224 N.C. 762, 765, 32 S.E.2d 346, 348 (1944). 

MCI, 132 N.C. App. at 630, 514 S.E.2d at 280 (first alteration in original). The court found 
the appeal in that case to be timely as follows: 

Appellants, the first parties to appeal in this case, filed their appeal 112 days 
after the entry of the Original Order. Eighty-four of those days, however, are 
not considered in computing whether the appeal is timely, as those days 
represent the time between the filing of the petition for reconsideration and 
the order denying that motion, and thus the running of the time for appeal 
was tolled during that period. The appeal by Appellants therefore was filed 
twenty-eight days after the entry of the Original Order. 

Id. at 630-31, 514 S.E.2d at 280.1 

In this case, as explicitly stated by Appellants, they appropriately filed a motion for 
reconsideration of the April 15 Order. Notice of Appeal at 1. Appellants filed their notice 
of appeal on August 20, 2020, 127 days after the entry of the April 15 Order. Thirty-six of 
those days, however, are not considered in computing whether the appeal is timely, as 
those days represent the time between the filing of the motion for reconsideration and the 
order denying that motion, and thus the running of the time for appeal was tolled during 

 
1 In Services Unlimited, cited by the court in MCI, appellants’ motion for rehearing was filed almost three 

months after the time for filing exceptions and for giving notice of appeal had expired. Citing N.C.G.S. § 62-80, 
the court concluded that the Commission’s authority to reconsider its orders is “obviously discretionary,” and 
“‘[an] appeal does not lie from the denial of a petition to rehear.’” Services Unlimited 9 N.C. App. at 591, 176 
S.E.2d at 871 (quoting Norfolk, 224 N.C. at 765, 32 S.E.2d at 348). Further, the court held: 

[Appellants] remedy was to appeal from the original order. They failed to do so, and 
consequently they may not now present, through an attempt to appeal from the denial of their 
motion to reopen the matter, the exact question which could have been presented by a timely 
appeal from the original order. “A court, having power to grant a rehearing, may entertain a 
petition for rehearing, filed after the time for appeal from its original order has expired, but in 
considering whether or not to grant the rehearing, such consideration will not enlarge the time 
for appeal from the original order.” 

Id. at 592 (quoting Norfolk, 224 N.C. at 765, 32 S.E.2d at 348). 
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that period.2 The appeal by Appellants, therefore, was filed 91 days after the entry of the 
April 15 Order, well beyond the 60-day statutory maximum allowed by N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-90(a) and granted in this case by the Commission. Thus, the appeal was untimely 
and must be dismissed. 

The result in the present case is consistent with the Commission’s prior orders and 
decisions. These orders and decisions have consistently cited and applied Services 
Unlimited and MCI (and the Supreme Court decisions on which those cases are based) 
for the basic principles that remain relevant here: (1) the Commission’s original order is 
“the final order” for purposes of N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) unless the original order is rescinded, 
altered, or amended by the Commission pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-80; (2) the decision 
to grant or deny rehearing or reconsideration is within the Commission’s discretion; and 
(3) the Commission’s decision to deny a rehearing or reconsideration is non-appealable.3 
Applied here, the Commission concludes that the April 15 Order is the original order for 
purposes of taking appeal, that the July 21 Order denying reconsideration was within the 
Commission’s discretion, and that no appeal lies from the July 21 Order. 

For reasons articulated in Duke’s reply, the Commission finds Appellants’ analogy 
to Appellate Rule 3(c) and Appellants’ policy arguments unpersuasive. The Commission 
agrees with Duke that Appellate Rule 3(c) is inapplicable here because that Rule applies 
in “civil actions and special proceedings” and not to “appeals of right from administrative 
agencies, boards, or commissions . . . directly to the appellate division under N.C.G.S. 
§ 7A-29.” Compare N.C.R. App. P. 3(c) and N.C.R. App. P. 18(a). The Commission is an 
administrative agency, board, or commission for purposes of Appellate Rule 18. See 
N.C.G.S. § 7A-29(a) (appeal as of right lies directly to the Court of Appeals from any final 
order or decision of the Commission other than in a general rate case). Further, as Duke 
notes, “[t]he times and methods for taking appeals from an administrative tribunal shall 
be as provided in . . . Rule 18 unless the General Statutes provide otherwise . . . .” N.C.R. 
App. P. 18(b)(1) (emphasis added). For the appeal of Commission orders, the General 
Statutes do provide otherwise in the plain language of N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a). Moreover, 
despite Appellants’ argument that the Commission’s discussion in the July 21 Order 
allowed the time for appeal to start over, Appellants unambiguously state in their notice 
of appeal that appeal is from the April 15 Order, not the July 21 Order. Therefore, the 
Commission agrees with Duke that the specific procedure established pursuant to 

 
2 To “toll” means to stop the running of; to abate (a time period, esp. a statutory one). Toll, Black’s Law 

Dictionary (10th ed. 2014). 

3 See, e.g., Order Denying Petition for Reconsideration and Stay of Enforcement, Petition for 
Declaratory Ruling by The Villages of Bishops Ridge Association, No. W-1309, Sub 0, at 5-6 (Dec. 15, 2017); 
Order Granting Motion to Dismiss Appeal of Order Denying Reconsideration, Application of Duke Energy 
Corporation and Progress Energy, Inc., to Engage in a Business Combination Transaction and to Address 
Regulatory Conditions and Codes of Conduct, Nos. E-2, Sub 998, and E-7, Sub 986, at 9-12 (Apr. 29, 2013); 
Order Denying dPi’s November 19, 2017 Motion to Reconsider, Complaint of dPi Teleconnect, L.L.C. Against 
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. Regarding Credit for Resale of Services Subject to Promotional Discounts, 
No. P-55, Sub 1577, at 4-5 (July 18, 2008). 
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N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) as applied in MCI controls in this case, and the provisions of 
Rule 3(c)(3) are not applicable or analogous to the present case.  

Appellants’ “policy arguments” are equally unavailing. Duke aptly observes that the 
timing of the motion for reconsideration was entirely within Appellants’ control and that 
other parties to Commission proceedings have been able to successfully navigate the 
procedure that Appellants describe as “unworkable.” Moreover, the Commission cannot 
rely on policy arguments to ignore the plain language of the Public Utilities Act.4 Lastly, 
as Duke notes in its reply, the right to appeal an administrative agency ruling is granted 
by statute, and compliance with the statutory provisions is necessary to sustain the 
appeal. Lewis v. N.C. Dept. of Human Resources, 92 N.C. App. 737, 739, 375 S.E.2d 
712, 714 (1989) (citing Smith v. Daniels Int’l, 64 N.C. App. 381, 383, 307 S.E.2d 434, 435 
(1983) (notice of appeal filed two days after statutory deadline; appeal properly 
dismissed)).5 

Finally, regarding Appellants’ arguments that rely on Norfolk and the U.S. Supreme 
Court cases cited therein, the Commission agrees with Duke that Norfolk was considered 
under a prior statute — former N.C.G.S. § 62-20 — a statute that provides a fundamentally 
different procedure than the current statutes for rehearing or reconsideration, N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-80, and for giving notice of appeal, N.C.G.S. § 62-90. The Commission acknowledges 
that MCI and Services Unlimited cite Norfolk for the authority that an appeal does not lie 
from the denial of a petition to rehearing and that a court authorized to grant rehearing 
may entertain a petition for rehearing after the time for appeal from its original order has 
expired, but consideration of the petition will not enlarge the time for appeal from the 
original order. MCI, 132 N.C. App. at 630, 514 S.E.2d at 280; Services Unlimited, 9 N.C. 
App. at 591-92, 176 S.E.2d at 871. Both concepts remain valid law and constitute binding 
precedent for the Commission. The Commission disagrees with Appellants that Norfolk 
and the cases cited therein can be relied upon to alter the procedure provided in N.C.G.S. 
§ 62-90(a) as interpreted and applied in MCI. Thus, the Commission agrees with Duke 
that there is no basis to read N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) and MCI as providing that the 30-day 
period for filing a notice of appeal “starts over” after the Commission issues an order 
denying reconsideration. Therefore, the Commission concludes that the proper 
calculation of time for the filing of a notice of appeal in this proceeding is as described 
above in this Order and that consistent with MCI, Appellants’ notice of appeal, even after 
subtracting the number of days during which the motion for reconsideration was being 
considered, was untimely filed after this period of time had expired. 

 
4 The Commission is an administrative agency created by statute and has no regulatory authority except 

such as is conferred upon it by statute. State ex rel. Utils. Comm’n. v. Edmisten, 291 N.C. 451, 232 S.E.2d 184 
(1977). Except as otherwise provided in Chapter 62, the Commission is authorized to make and promulgate 
rules of practice and procedure for the Commission hearings. N.C.G.S. § 62-72. 

5 This point is underscored by the difference in the language of N.C.G.S. § 62-80, which provides no 
time limit within which to file a motion for reconsideration, and the language of N.C.G.S. § 62-90, which provides 
the 30-day deadline, subject to enlargement by 30 days by order of the Commission, for filing a notice of appeal 
and exceptions. 
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Having carefully considered the foregoing and the entire record herein, the 
Commission concludes that Appellants’ notice of appeal was not filed within the time 
period established pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 62-90(a) and the Commission’s Order granting 
an additional 30 days. Appellants’ views to the contrary lack support in the plain language 
of the Public Utilities Act and are contrary to the relevant decisions of the state’s appellate 
courts. Therefore, the Commission determines that Appellants’ notice of appeal and 
exceptions must be dismissed. 

IT IS, THEREFORE, SO ORDERED. 

ISSUED BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION. 

This the 15th day of October, 2020. 

NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION  

 
Kimberley A. Campbell, Chief Clerk  

 
Commissioners Kimberly W. Duffley, Jeffrey A. Hughes, and Floyd B. McKissick, Jr., did 
not participate. 


